Thank you cards & letters

mage credit: <a href='http://www.123rf.com/photo_20499375_white-figure-revealing-thank-you-in-different-languages-with-a-megaphone-with-map-on-the-background.html'>wavebreakmediamicro / 123RF Stock Photo</a>Until recently I was confident that I had brought my sons up well, insisting that they always wrote their ‘Thank you’s’ particularly after receiving Birthday and Christmas gifts.
This confidence was shattered recently when I found an unpacked box in the garage from when I moved nearly ten years ago.
In the box marked ‘ kitchen drawer’ , I found a bundle of carefully handwritten notes to Aunts, Uncles, friends and God parents. They were from the boy’s birthday’s aged two and four. Admittedly it was during my three and a half years as a single mum, I was running a shop, gallery and publishing business and considering selling the whole lot up, including the premises which we lived and worked in.
I think I made amends by putting the letters in with this years Christmas cards.

My sons have recently come up with the argument that if you open a gift in front of the person giving it to you, a verbal ‘Thank you’ is enough. I agree when it comes to parents and siblings, and maybe even with close friends, but surely who wouldn’t prefer to receive a thoughtful letter just confirming that the look for gratitude and surprise was genuine?

This year, it has been much easier to extract the said notes, and my youngest has actually produced a wonderful set of illustrated cards.

Today I am just waiting for a couple of hand written thank you’s from my sons and then I can leave a pile of addressed envelopes for my husband to fill with his, and post. Lets hope that they actually make it to the post box this time!

 

mage credit: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/photo_20499375_white-figure-revealing-thank-you-in-different-languages-with-a-megaphone-with-map-on-the-background.html’>wavebreakmediamicro / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

Phew!

One comment

  1. I LOVE & applaud your approach Paula, what a wonderful habit to engrain in future adults of this fast-paced, tech-fixated world! I often write people cards, I take great pleasure in sitting & reflecting on what it is about them that I’m touched by or just connected to – then I breathe that in & write a message from that space. It nourishes me & people generally like receiving these hand written notes. Love as ever xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

