Oil Pulling

It is said that if you do something everyday for 21 days it becomes a new habit. Well it took a few months before I could bring myself to try it, but after seven and a half months of doing it, I can safely say that oil pulling is now a confirmed habit of mine!

Thanks to a friend of mine, Bella, who had casually mentioned it as ‘something I could try’, this year, after re-finding her Facebook message with the link on oil pulling, I decided to give it a go.

I began using organic cold pressed Rape seed oil, as that was the best oil I had in my cupboard. I have to admit, it wasn’t a particularly pleasant experience, sloshing a tablespoon of oil in your mouth . I managed about five minutes before having to spit it out and almost retching. I was shocked at how the oil came out, it was thick and cloudy, and a ‘glow in the dark’ shade of yellow. Eeeew.

My mouth did feel remarkably clean after this experience, and so I decided to try again the next day. It’s best to do this on an empty stomach, so first thing in the morning before breakfast is ideal. I moved onto a cold pressed sunflower oil which was more palatable.

I had a dental hygienist appointment a couple of weeks into this so that was my motivation. I was interested to see if she noticed any improvement in my severe gum disease. ( This is one of the many symptoms/ side effects of ME /EDS.) Having never had any troubles with my teeth throughout childhood, and early adult hood, I had a shock diagnosis of receding gums shortly after the birth of my second son. The Dentist had recommended an operation on them asap. I flatly refused. Dentists are one thing, but to have a team of surgeons cutting away at my gums, ABSOLUTELY NO WAY!!

Luckily my Dentist had recently been on a ‘Homeopathy for Dentists’ training course, and, realising that I was more that way inclined he agreed on an experiment and referred me to the NHS Homeopathic hospital in Bristol. The homeopathic treatment has definitely helped ‘stabilise’ my poor gums, and particularly helped other health problems I’ve been plagued with since falling ill with ‘Severe ME ‘ in 2009.

Firstly I had an appointment with my hygienist, Wendy. Without telling her what I’d been up to, I was very pleased when she noticed that not only were my gums and teeth looking healthy but that my lower gums had actually made an improvement! After I’d told her what I’d been up to she admitted to having heard of oil pulling and a fellow colleague had a patient who had completely healed her receding gums by oil pulling. Mind you, that lady had been oil pulling THREE times a day for FIFTEEN minutes each time!

I left the dentist feeling inspired and so I then moved onto Coconut oil and a strict fifteen minutes every morning. To pass the time I began by using it as my ‘Angry birds’ and ‘Jewels star’ gaming time, which helped the time pass very quickly. This gaming session wasn’t so good for my easily tired eyes, so I then tried pyjama gardening, meditation, and more increasingly, a shower. My husband can now fathom some of what I’m trying to say whilst sloshing the oil, and I’ve even mastered withholding a sneeze, and blowing my nose!

The Coconut oil is meant to be particularly beneficial for ones health and is much more palatable than any of the previously tried oils. It’s also easy to administer, scooping a spoonful out of the jar and letting it ‘melt in the mouth’. An extra observation is that since oil pulling I have not caught any of the many colds that the rest of my family have been subjected to…

If you’d like to know more, or are just curious, the following short video from You Tube will answer any of your questions and make you keen to try for yourself!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

