Fine Wise Woman Teas

Over the summer we were lucky enough to house, (& cat) sit for a friend’s mother, in beautiful and sunny Cornwall.

Whilst there I had to visit as many of the local Farmer’s markets as possible. We were staying in the lovely village of St Buryan, right in between Penzance & Land’s End.

Saturday mornings were the day of St Buryan’s markets and I made some lovely friends during my two visits. There was a local flower farmer, extremely local in fact. He’d gone to St Buryan school and still lives in his parent’s farm house about a mile south of the village. (Another stall holder was referred to as ‘not local’ as she’d moved into the area from St Erth, about 15 miles north). He had the most beautiful sunflowers and a great selection of potted plants and spring bulbs. As we’d driven down in my mini, with our three teenage sons, our luggage and my wheelchair no will in the world would have squeezed in an Agapanthus or the flowering ginger plants that I so wanted to bring home.

My new ‘best friend’ that I met at this market is ‘Pip’ the ‘Tea Lady’, a wise herbalist who makes her own herbal tea selection. What a dream stand for me, a dedicated tea lover. When I stopped at her stall she could tell I was hooked. She had a flask of her Elderflower, ginger & lemongrass with green tea and offered me a cup. Heaven. I bought a pack and that was my morning, afternoon and evening cuppa of the week. I’d brought with me a selection of excellent Pukka and Fortnum & Mason teas, but nothing beats tea leaves in a pot!

I felt as soon as I met Pip that we would have a lot to chat about, it turns out she is a jewellery designer and spent many years selling her work in galleries around Cornwall. There are now hundreds of jewellers selling their wares to the willing tourists and so Pip developed into felt bags and now her true passion, herb teas.

I’d met up with a friend one day at the equally wonderful ‘Archie browns’ healthfood shop and cafe. I’d discovered it earlier in the week on a search for treats for me to satisfy my wheat, dairy and sugar free diet whilst hubby & the boys gorged on pasties and cream teas. Archie Browns has everything any healthfood freak could possibly want, and more. It was a combination of my local ‘Wincanton healthfoods’, ‘High St Organics’ in Bruton, and the great ‘Abel and Cole’. I did notice though when we sat down for lunch that I fancied one of my new friend’s herbal teas. Archie Browns did have a great selection of Pukka, Yoga and other teas, but they were all in bags, and what I really fancied was a pot with herbs sloshing around in it!

I do hope that Pip manages to win other tea rooms and healthfood shops with her winning selection as she had won me over. Pip doesn’t yet have a website showing her products, but she does have an email address which I am happy to share with you all. Get in touch and I’m sure she’ll send you a list of her teas.

The Tea Lady; pip.herbals@btinternet.com

http://www.archiebrowns.co.uk/

http://wincantonwholefoods.co.uk/

2013-09-09 17.45.33
Wise Womans potion tea, Elderflower, Ginger, Lemongrass with Green tea and a sachet of Cornish wild flower infusion. 35gm tea packets priced under £3. Sachet £1.95

Leave a Reply

